Curiosità, My Interests
Comments 6

What’s FoMO? 4 Tips Shows You How to Cope with it. // FoMO: “Uma vida correndo”. 4 consigli su come affrontarla.

FOMO - Fear of Missing Out (Photo credit: www.thesilverpen.com)

FoMo, aka ‘Fear of Missing Out’.

I have to admit that I am affected myself by Fomo sometimes as there are so many things I want to do and places I want to see in my life. And so I force myself into running from one place to another to see people, new places (whether a new cafe or a town while traveling) or experience something I’ve never done before. I think increasing people are affected but this phenomenon, but I believe there’s also a parallel trend of trying to enjoy the good things life, especially Food & Wine, slow down and spend ‘quality time’ with friends, the loved ones, or just escape from the cities and this crazy lifestyle. And that is why I believe there’s an increasing offer of different getaways, organic food, gourmet, or ‘sort of’, restaurants springing and so on.

FOMO - So many choices (Photo Credit: mbadventure.com )

FOMO – So many choices (Photo Credit: mbadventure.com )

That’s why I said I only sometimes experience FoMO, if it’s FoMO. I, in fact, sometimes believe it’s just a crazy curiosity about the world and life in general.

Anyway no matter where I go or live, Milan, Madrid or Melbourne, the 3 Ms! I’m always running! Also for routinely reasons, such as catching a train or a bus, very true these days!!

FOMO - Say No to FOMO (Photo Credit: thepassionproject.wordpress.com)

FOMO – Say No to FOMO (Photo Credit: thepassionproject.wordpress.com)

Well, it was just a morning thought, based on my experience, not the truth of course…
My advice, or what I’m trying to do, is balance out the 2 extremes:
1. make a list of priorities of what I want to do
2. Listen to myself i.e. Put myself first in a positive & healthy way
3. Take time to relax
4. Plan in advance, when possible, and still take time for my escapes, personal ones, with my husband, friends and family
These are pretty straight-forward actions, but sometimes the easiest things are the ones the work best… And, as they say in Italian:”Tra dire e il fare, c’e’ di mezzo il mare” = it’s not that easy to implement what you propose yourself to do. So a strong will, but a relaxed approach to life, are always in the mix.

Another thing related to FoMO that I’d like to give it a thought is the urge to do everything, that could be what everybody does or what a lot of other people do, but at the same time wanting to be different, unique. It may seem a contradiction, but these two trend seem to be present at the same time…anyway, maybe food for thought for another time…
What’s your experience? What’s your approach to life and world’s discovery? And what are your tips? Eager to know them!

——— // ———

Ogni tanto soffro anche io di FoMO, “Fear of Missing Out” e cioe’ paura di perdersi qualcosa. Questo mi capita perche’ voglio vedere e fare milioni di cose. Penso che sia un fenomeno che si sta sempre di piu’ diffondendo tra le persone dato che l’hanno anche claffisificato con un acronimo. Allo stesso tempo penso ci sia un trend parallel che spinge le persone a volersi ritagliare dei momenti di relax, per se stessi, per poter staccare dalla routine e dalla vita frenetica tutti i giorni. Immagino per questo ci sia una crescente offerta di evasion, verso oasi di tranquillita’ per qualche giorno o esperienze gourmet o relax anche solo per qualche ora. Personalmente, per quanto mi riguarda, non penso che sia FoMO, ma piu’ un’inisaziabile curiosita’ verso tutto cioe’ che mi circonda, persone comprese.

Non importa dove viva, se a Milano, Madrid o Melbourne, le 3 M! Sto sempre, o quasi sempre correndo! Ma posso dire dis tar migliorando e di riouscire a prendermi dei momenti piu’ con calma, di relax.

Come convivere con la FoMO o un’instancabile curiosita’? Queste sono le cose che sto cercando di fare e che stanno funzionando per me:

  1. Fare una lista di priorita’ (di cio’ che si vorrebbe fare)
  2. Ascoltare me stessa di piu’, cioe’ mettere me stessa Prima degli altri in maniera positive e sana
  3. Prendersi del tempo per se stessi in relax
  4. Pianificare con anticipo, quando possibile, e trovare il tempo per sani momenti di evasione da soli, con amici/famiglia

Sicuramente “ho scoperto l’acqua calda”, ma molto spesso I consigli piu’ semplici sono quelli che funzionano meglio. E “tra il dire e il fare, c’e’ di mezzo il mare”, quindi un buon mix di volonta’ e e approccio rilassato alla vita e’ sempre richiesto!

Mi chiedo anche come possano coesistere anche la necessita’ di molti di essere diversi e unici, ma allo stesso tempo di voler fare molte cose che altrettante persone fanno. Due aspetti, per me, legati al FoMO e in contraddizione tra loro, ma forse e’ meglio parlarne un’altra volta…

Quale’ la vostra esperienza? Qual e’ la ricotta segreta per bilanciare Relax e Curiosita’ di scoprire? Che consigli avete per me? Son tutta orecchi!🙂

DSC05466

DSC05466 (Photo credit: el_floz)

P.S. Nel titolo ho scritto “Uma vida correndo” in Portoghese, perche’ facilmente comprensibile in italiano, ma soprattutto perche’ sul treno che prendo ogni mattina ci sono degli studenti brasiliani e che mi ricordano quando studiavo Portoghese con la mia fantastica Prof. Eliane. Il Portoghese-brasiliano, una lingua che adoro, una cultura e un paese fantastico il Brasile, e mi divertivo un sacco! Guardate qui per i corsi: http://www.imparareilportoghese.it/

E qui (Valeria Vigliani) per capire quanto mi piacesse studiare il Portoghese: http://www.imparareilportoghese.it/chi-ha-frequentato-il-corso-dice/

This entry was posted in: Curiosità, My Interests

by

Milan born, I lived in the US although very briefly, Spain (Madrid), Australia (Melbourne) and now Zurich for an exciting new adventure! I'm a curious person, a traveller, a lover of languages and cultures, food, art & design, a marketer and about to become a jewellery designer. I also love traveling and sharing. Travelling is a Life Experience, and it also means new recipes, new styles, culture and so on... you'll find all my love for traveling and what it entails in this blog! I'll share my own real experiences with you so that you can get tips on Australia and more first hand! This blog is in English and Italian, and occasionally in Spanish. Sharing is caring!

6 Comments

  1. Eliane Oliveira says

    Valeriaaaaaa! Que presente você me deu! Obrigada pelo “fantástica”!! O aluno que um professor tem a sua frente é, quase sempre, um grande estímulo! Cultive o seu português. E se preciso for traduza esta comentário. Vc é capaz! Um grande, forte, abraço!

    • Eliane! Obrigada! E’ a verdade pra mim. Eu vou intentar não perder o meu Português e aproveitar da cada oportunidade para praticar. Si tiver tempo, poderia traduzir um post de vez em quando. Agora tenho menos tempo, mais vou intentar. Um abraço!
      p.s. Si vc já não fez, siga o meu blog clicando ‘follow’ arriba a direita incluindo o seu mail🙂

  2. Oh this is too cute! I had FOMO, so I ran over here to see what you were up to!😉

    Glad I did though. For me FOMO is not so much an issue as wanting to support my blogger-friends, seeing what life looks like on their side of the world (as we are watching snow here, you’re writing about surfing!), and what is important to others. I like the cultural perspectives, so FOMO maybe, or perhaps just curious. I can’t stay away too long.

    • Hey!
      thank you for stopping by and for your interesting perspective & positive comment!
      As you can see I’ve been quite busy and I’m sorry for taking so long to reply.

      Let being curious be, FoMO or No FoMO, I totally agree. If we don’t speak before, Merry Xmas!
      …with lots of things to look forward to!🙂

  3. Pingback: What changes while you’re away? The inevitability of missing out when travelling or living abroad | travelola

  4. Pingback: Which are the 2015 TOp 20 islands by Conde Nast Traveler? // Quali sono le 20 isole piu’ belle al mondo secondo Traveler di Conde Nast nel 2015? | La Vale and Her World

Leave a Reply

