Australia, Curiosità, My Interests, Travel
Comments 7

What does Eucalyptus smell like?

eucalyptus or gumtree (source: lavaleandherworld.wordpress.com)

It’s been months that I have been planning on writing about Eucalyptus, or Gumtree. I guess I just waited to be inspired or directly asked to describe the perfume of gumtree. And this finally happened last Friday night at Meyers Place, in Meyers Lane one of many Melbourne’s hidden lanes, and full of nice of little cafes, restaurants and bars.

Why did I want to write about gumtree in the first place?
Well because it’s what reminded me of Australia after my first visit a few years back. And that’s what reminds of Australia now that I’m back. Yes because when you live in Melbourne, you know that you’re in Australia, but it’s living just like in another city. Well, not quite, but this is another story…

So, I was asked: “What’s the smell of gumtree, if you had to describe it?”
I started by saying that the smell of gumtree is what reminds me that I’m so lucky to be in Australia, it’s what gives me positive energy, it’s what inspires me, it’s what comforts me and create that little big excitement in my heart. It has a sweet, fresh and refreshing smell, stronger when the weather is stretched, when it’s really hot or really humid after the rain. And the guy says: “It’s crisp”. Yes, it is, that’s exactly the word I have been looking for to complete my description.

It’s one of the things that makes me happy here in Australia…

and what if they’d tell you that gold grows on Eucalyptus trees…🙂

Eucalyptus sunlight (Photo credit: lavaleandherworld.wordpress.com)

Eucalyptus sunlight (Photo credit: lavaleandherworld.wordpress.com)

This entry was posted in: Australia, Curiosità, My Interests, Travel

by

Milan born, I lived in the US although very briefly, Spain (Madrid), Australia (Melbourne) and now Zurich for an exciting new adventure! I'm a curious person, a traveller, a lover of languages and cultures, food, art & design, a marketer and about to become a jewellery designer. I also love traveling and sharing. Travelling is a Life Experience, and it also means new recipes, new styles, culture and so on... you'll find all my love for traveling and what it entails in this blog! I'll share my own real experiences with you so that you can get tips on Australia and more first hand! This blog is in English and Italian, and occasionally in Spanish. Sharing is caring!

7 Comments

  1. One of my favorite candle smells – but I’ve never smelled it for *real* – your description was wonderful!

    • Oh wow!
      That’s great! It’s really a peculiar smell, authentic and that once you smell it, you’ll never forget!
      You should make some time to smell it for real and meanwhile keep on with the candles!🙂

  2. Love the description of the positive energy and the way it inspires you. Yes, every living matter transmits its own energy. You might take to this:

    “http://holisticwayfarer.com/2013/07/01/first-aid-from-my-apothecary-bumps-bugs-cuts-poison-sun/”

    =)

Leave a Reply

